The film is set in Beijing in the 1980s during the extraordinary time that led up to Tiananmen Square protests 1989. It tells the story of young artists and musicians demanding freedom and making rebellion through their art and music, creating indelible memories for a generation of Chinese people. The director Yang Yang grew up in Beijing in this time and the film is framed within her memories and lived experience. The film travels back in time with the six artists whose work represented the revolutionary dreams of a generation soon to be violently silenced by the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre.


  • Yang Yang: Director
  • Anna J Ljungmark: Producer
  • Ronja Yu: Producer, co-producer
  • Hans Appelqvist: Key Cast, composer


  • Project Title (Original Language): 那即将来到的日子
  • Project Type: Documentary
  • Runtime: 1 hour 12 minutes
  • Completion Date: April 15, 2021
  • Production Budget: 300,000 USD
  • Country of Origin: Sweden
  • Country of Filming: China, France, United States
  • Language: Chinese
  • Shooting Format: digital, 16mm
  • Aspect Ratio: 16:9
  • Film Color: Color

Screenings / Awards

  • Hot Docs Toronto
    April 28, 2021
    World premiere
  • Warsaw International Film Festival Warsaw
  • BKK DOC Bangkok International Documentary Awards and Festival Bangkok
    Winner of Best Female Director, nominated for Best Chinese Documentary

Distribution Information

  • Taskoviski films
    Distributor Country: Worldwide
    Rights: All Rights